Cultivating New Futures

At the 2019 Tribute to Change, we’ll honor leaders and community groups who inspire our movements by offering compelling, positive alternatives to unjust systems.

The Tribute to Change will be held at the National Museum of American Jewish History on Thursday, October 17, 2019 from 5:30 to 8:00 p.m.

We invite you to dig deeper into the Cultivating New Futures theme by exploring our collection of books, podcasts, music, and other media that inspire us to build new worlds.


Francisco Cortes Emerging Leader Award
Nancy Dung Nguyen Trailblazer Award
Ron Whitehorne Paul Robeson Lifetime Achievement Award
Kara Tennis Robin Hood was Right Award
Philadelphia Coalition for Affordable Communities Victory is Ours Award
Urban Creators Victory is Ours Award

Learn more about the honorees here.

Sponsorship and Tickets

Join us in honoring the community leaders and grassroots groups that are cultivating new futures in the Philadelphia region. Find out more about sponsorship, program book advertisements, and tickets and then click on the button below to make a secure online payment:


List in formation

Nancy and Terence Culleton
Jane Koppelman
Kate Poole

Cutest Cohort (2018-19 Gender Justice Giving Project)
Connie and Terry Dellmuth
Steve and Barbara Gold
Ross Hoffman and Elsa Waldman

Lis and Stu Bass
Jolley Bruce Christman
Pathways to Housing PA

Drick Boyd
Casey Cook and Shauna Swartz
Jeff Frankl
Patrice Green
Rebecca Johnson and Lawrence Weisberg
Jennifer Jordan and Rose White
Jennifer Lyman and Gregory Schmidt
Ezra Berkley Nepon
Sara Nerken
JoAnn Seaver and Bill Van Stone
Julia Stone
Walden Asset Management
Ann Weigand and Alan Hedges
Sara and Charles White

AFSCME District Council #47
AMJ Foundation
Barbara Attie
Richard and Mary Ann Baron
Gene Bishop and Andrew Stone
Norma and David Blecker
Marty Brigham and Harriet Rubenstein
Cathryn Coate
Branch Coslett and Janet Goldwater
Juniper Street, 1400 Block South
Kairys, Rudovsky, Messing, Feinberg, & Lin, LLP
Vanessa Lowe
Lynn McHenry and Arthur Patchefsky
Piscitello Law, P.C.
Rebecca Rathje and David Murphy
Len Rieser and Fernando Chang-Muy
Susan Schewel
Lizzy Schmidt
USW Local 10-234
Judy and Ken Weinstein
Women’s Community Revitalization Project
Nancy Wygant

Carolyn T. Adams
Rebecca Alpert and Christie Balka
Daniel Bang
Pauline R. Boyce
Amadee Braxton
John Braxton
Judy Buchanan and Jim Parker
Canopy Consulting, Inc.
Dr. Harry Cooper
Peggy and Mark Curchack
Caroline Cuthbert
Lyn Davis
Dana Devon
Helen Evelev
Jill Feldstein
Murray Gerstenhaber
Elicia Gonzales
Nadia Hewka and Jon Jolles
Larry Holman
David and Becky Hornbeck
Jean Hunt and Mas Nakawatase
Leroy and Johnetta Jordan
Gary Kapanowski
Maura Kelly
Jack Malinowski
Frederica Massiah-Jackson
Ruth Ost
Morgan Plant
Dina H. Portnoy
Tim Potts and Lu Conser
Bonnie Raines
Sevgi B. Rodan
Amy Sadao and Thomas Devaney
Scott and Nan Langen Steketee
DJ Thornton
Charles Thrall and Sally Simmons
Walter Tsou
Judy Wicks
Nancy Wieman
Ruth Zager
Susan and Eric Zerbe

Planning Committee

Yahya Alazrak
Barbara Attie
Richard Baron
Thomas Earle
Lauren Hunter
Sara Jacobson
Jennifer Jordan

Nora Lichtash
Lynn McHenry
Nisha Nayak
Ezra Berkley Nepon
Farrah Parkes
Ha Pham

Bonnie Raines
Arthur Sharon
Nan Langen Steketee
Kara Tennis
DJ Thornton
Katherine (Kat) Walden

About the Tribute to Change

The Tribute to Change is Bread & Roses’ annual gathering honoring local social change heroes. Explore past events here.