Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance

Celebrating Bread & Roses Community Fund’s 40th Anniversary

40 years of resistance logo

Bread & Roses Community Fund celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Tribute to Change on November 14, 2017 at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in Philadelphia.

For the Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance, we honored the 40-year legacy of Bread & Roses by presenting four longtime activists with the Legacy of Leadership Award. The Legacy of Leadership Award celebrates community organizers who have made outstanding contributions to social change while also investing in building the leadership of resistance movements by mentoring new resistance fighters.


This year’s event included two special features: storyteller Susan Klein presenting a dynamic narrative of Bread & Roses’ history based on extensive interviews and research, and Bread & Roses cofounder and renowned photographer Harvey Finkle exhibiting photos documenting four decades of local movements for change.

All proceeds from the Tribute to Change are used to support community organizers and grassroots groups in our region who are resisting, transforming, and building a more just and equitable world for all of us.

Please support the Tribute to Change and movements for real change by becoming a sponsor, purchasing a program book ad, and/or purchasing tickets.

Click here to read profiles of our honorees, and view our list of Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance sponsors and planning committee members.

Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance Planning Committee

We are deeply grateful for the hard work of each member of the 2017 Tribute to Change planning committee.

David Acosta
Richard Baron
Lis Bass
Kathy Black
Hillary Blecker
Diego Bouguerra
Drick Boyd
Jolley Bruce Christman
Joan Davitt
Thomas Earle, Esq.
Harvey Finkle
Molly Frantz
Gloria M. Gilman, Esq.
Steve Gold
Benjamin Goldstein
Janet Goldwater
Patrice R. Green
Cheri Honkala
Jean Hunt
Jennifer Jordan
Andy Lamas
Nora Lichtash
Jeri Nutter
Nick Ospa
Arun Prabhakaran
Linda Richardson
Hannah Sassaman
Susan Schewel
Shelley Smith
Tyson Smith
Julia Stone
Liz Thul
Anna Weisberg
Carrie Young