Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance

 Honorees, Sponsors, and Planning Committee

  Honorees    Sponsors    Planning Committee

Legacy of Leadership Award

For the Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance we will honor the 40-year legacy of Bread & Roses by presenting four longtime activists with the Legacy of Leadership Award.

The Legacy of Leadership Award celebrates community organizers who have made outstanding contributions to social change while also investing in building the leadership of resistance movements by mentoring new resistance fighters.


Abdul-Hakim ‘Ali

Abdul-Hakim ‘Ali is the public relations and outreach coordinator and board secretary for Reconstruction Inc. He is a returning citizen who was released in 2003 after serving almost 40 years in federal and state institutions. During that time, he earned an associate’s degree from Hagerstown Junior College and a bachelor’s degree from Morgan State University. Hakim is a member of the Coalition to Abolish Death by Incarceration, a group of organizations and individuals seeking an end to inhumane sentencing and mass incarceration and the harm it brings our many communities. He has been a practicing Muslim since 1969.



Erika Almirón Niz

photo credit: Louis Ortiz-Fonseca

Erika Almirón Niz is the executive director of Juntos, a Latinx immigrant community-led human rights organization. She was born in South Philadelphia to immigrant parents from Paraguay. After college, Erika worked to build organizations like Media Mobilizing Project, Philadelphia Student Union, and the Mexico/US Border Program of the American Friends Service Committee. Her recent work includes pushing for sanctuary city policies, fighting to shut down immigrant detention centers, and building power to end deportations and criminalization of immigrants and Black and Brown folks.



John Braxton

John Braxton began a lifetime of activism during the movement against the war in Vietnam. After refusing to be drafted, he was sentenced to 30 months in federal prison and served 16 months before being paroled. As a labor organizer, he helped to lay the groundwork for the 1997 national UPS strike, which created 10,000 new full-time jobs at UPS. John helped to found Philadelphia Jobs with Justice and has been active in mobilizing the labor movement to respond to the climate crisis. He currently teaches biology at Community College of Philadelphia.




Nancy Salandra

Nancy Salandra has been an organizer with Disabled in Action/Philly ADAPT for 24 years. She is the director of independent living services at Liberty Resources, a nonprofit that supports activism and promotes community integration, consumer control, and dignity for all persons with disabilities. In June, Nancy and other ADAPT activists staged a “die in” at Sen. Mitch McConnell’s office, leading the way to stopping the repeal of the Affordable Care Act. She credits her own mentors, Cassie James Holdsworth, Erik von Schmetterling, and Jimmi Shrode, for supporting her in learning and developing her skills as an activist.


Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance Sponsors



Connie and Terry Dellmuth

Steve and Barbara Gold



Christie Balka and Rebecca Alpert
Lis and Stuart Bass
Jolley Bruce Christman
Molly Frantz
Janet Goldwater and Branch Coslett
Patrice R. Green

Andy Lamas and Ginny Vanderslice
Liberty Resources Home Choices
Liberty Resources, Inc.
Julia Stone
Maggie Trotzky and Dennis Murphy





Linda Lee Alter
Brian Baxter and Ilene Shane
Gene Bishop and Andrew Stone
Hillary Blecker
Joan Davitt and Paul Gehman
Helen and Leonard Evelev
Riitta Lukkari
Laura Kind McKenna and Marc McKenna
Sara Nerken
Pathways to Housing PA
Phoebus Fund
Project HOME
Susan Schewel and Lizzy Schmidt
JoAnn Seaver and William Van Stone





Erika Aaron
Irv Ackelsberg and Pat Urevick
AFSCME Local 2186
Drick and Cynthia Boyd
Marty Brigham and Harriet Rubenstein
Casey Cook and Shauna Swartz
Dr. Bernadette Marie Cronin-Geller and Lawrence H. Geller
Thomas Earle, Esq.
Jill Feldstein
Harvey Finkle
Michael Froehlich and Susanna Gilbertson
Gloria M. Gilman, Esq.
Elicia Gonzales and Megan Hannah
Rebecca Johnson and Lawrence Weisberg
Jennifer Jordan and Rose White

Priscilla Koutsouradis
Susan Langmuir and Carmen Febo San Miguel
Leeway Foundation
Liberty Community Connections, Inc.
Gail Lopez-Henriquez and Ted Lieverman
Frederica Massiah-Jackson
Trina Middleton
Catherine Ormerod
Leah Pillsbury and Casey Cesari
Hal and Sue Rosenthal
Ellen B. Solms
Scott and Nan Langen Steketee
Tom Sugrue
Charles Thrall and Sally Simmons
Liz Thul
Walter Tsou and Jean Lee








Christina Ager and Deborah Waxman
Barbara Attie and Remy Heymsfeld
Richard and Mary Ann Baron
Cameron and Kaitlan Baston
Judith Bernstein-Baker
Kathy Black
The Blue Door Group
John Braxton and Marcy Morgan
Amy Brodkey
Denise M. Brown
Judy Buchanan and Jim Parker
Canopy Consulting, Inc.
Caucus of Working Educators
Barbary Cook and Rebecca Subar
Corporate Realty Partners & Co., Inc.
Peggy and Mark Curchack
Sharon M. Dietrich
Joan Duckenfield
Cheryl Feldman and Stephen Ebner
Laura H. Foster
Angela D. Giampolo, Esq.
Mary L. Goldman
Ann N. Greene
Curtiss P.S. Hannum and Bonnie Scott Jones

Nadia Hewka
Jean Hunt and Mas Nakawatase
Lynne Iser and Mordechai Liebling
Aarati Kasturirangan and Jonathan Lipman
James Hobson Kelch, Jr.
Maura Kelly
Elizabeth and Steven Larín
Sylvia W. Lieberman
Gerald Macdonald and David Acosta
John Oliver Mason
Antje Mattheus and David Kairys
Diane Menio
Katy Otto
Bonnie and John Raines
Ted and Dianne Reed
Carol Rogers and Rob Frederick
M. Stephens
Kara Tennis
Claudia Tesoro and Rick Greenstein
DJ Thornton
Debra Weiner
Ilene Winikur
Women’s Community Revitalization Project
Emily Wyner



  Tribute to Change: 40 Years of Resistance Planning Committee

David Acosta
Richard Baron
Lis Bass
Kathy Black
Hillary Blecker
Diego Bouguerra
Drick Boyd
Jolley Bruce Christman
Joan Davitt
Thomas Earle, Esq.
Harvey Finkle

Molly Frantz
Gloria M. Gilman, Esq.
Steve Gold
Benjamin Goldstein
Janet Goldwater
Patrice R. Green
Cheri Honkala
Jean Hunt
Jennifer Jordan
Andy Lamas
Nora Lichtash
Jeri Nutter

Nick Ospa
Arun Prabhakaran
Linda Richardson
Hannah Sassaman
Susan Schewel
Shelley Smith
Tyson Smith
Julia Stone
Elizabeth Thul
Anna Weisberg
Carrie Young